Councils

Colchester: contracts, suppliers and what is coming next.

Colchester is a district council in the East of England. We hold 191 of its award notices, 35 contracts due to end within 18 months, and 1 committee paper from the last 120 days that talk about buying. Everything here comes from public records: award notices the council itself published, and the papers it publishes before each committee meeting.

Data updated: 20 September 2026 (committee papers) | 18 September 2026 (award notices)

191
Award notices on record, 2021 to 2026
133
Distinct suppliers
£130m
Total awarded value, 2021 to 2026
170
Papers read in four months
7
Committees tracked

GovLeads reads Colchester's papers every weeknight. A value is published on 165 of those 191 award notices, so the total is a floor, not the council's spend.

Next committee meetings

The next 5 scheduled meetings at Colchester, taken from the council's own calendar. Papers usually appear five clear working days beforehand, and we read them the night they land.

Source: Colchester's published committee calendar.

Biggest suppliers

Ranked by total awarded value across every Colchester award notice we hold. Values on multi-supplier frameworks are shared across the suppliers named on them, so a place on a large framework does not inflate a single firm.

SupplierAwarded valueAwards
Kier Eastern Ltd£19.1m3
Beyond the Box Student Limited£16.0m2
Seager Heating Ltd£12.9m3
Rose Builders Ltd£12.4m5
Houghton and Son Ltd£7.1m3

Largest awards of the last 12 months

The biggest awards Colchester has notified in the last year. Awards sharing a title and end date are collapsed into a single row, so a framework or dynamic purchasing system appears once rather than once per supplier.

AwardSupplierValueRoute
GB-Colchester: 0466-PA Voids Property WorksHoughton & Son Ltd£4.0mNot specified
Building Cleaning Services3 award notices, shown onceframework, 3 suppliers£3.0mRestricted
Procurement of Wheeled Bins for the new Recycling and Waste ServiceIpl Plastics (UK) Ltd£2.5mOpen
GB-Colchester: 0447 - Parking Management & Civil Enforcement SystemChipside Limited£1.0mNot specified
GB-Colchester: 0436 - Supply & Installation of Fire Doors to CBH Housing StockNationwide Windows & Doors£1.0mNot specified

How the money is awarded

77% of Colchester's awarded value went through open competition and 0% was awarded directly. A further 23% sits on notices that do not state a route at all. Directly awarded work is the part of the market that never reaches a competitive notice, so it is the part you have to see coming upstream.

  • Competed 77% (£99.5m)
  • Other/Unspecified 23% (£30.0m)
  • Direct 0% (not stated)

Contracts expiring within 18 months

The 5 largest by value on record for Colchester, of those with an end date inside 18 months. A re-procurement decision normally reaches a committee months before the contract itself runs out, which is the point at which scope is still moveable, so the months-left column matters as much as the value.

EndsMonths leftContractSupplierValue
3 Jun 20278Design & Build at 72-86 Military RoadRose Builders Ltd£6.8m
31 Mar 20276Procurement of Wheeled Bins for the new Recycling and Waste ServiceIpl Plastics (UK) Ltd£2.5m
1 Nov 202713GB-Colchester: 0343 - Electrical TestingWhitehall Electrical LTD£1.2m
31 Mar 20276GB-Colchester: 0436 - Supply & Installation of Fire Doors to CBH Housing StockNationwide Windows & Doors£1.0m
31 Jan 20274Communal Area Building Cleaning Services of 2 and 3 Storey FlatsAccuro Environmental Ltd£840,000

30 more Colchester contracts expire by 20 March 2028. Start a free trial to see them.

Procurement radar

Committee papers Colchester published in the last four months whose title uses the language of buying: a tender, an award, an extension, a gateway report, a waiver, or a procurement strategy, policy or performance report. It is a title match, so the odd paper lands here on a word rather than a decision.

1 of 170 papers, in Colchester’s own words
MeetingPaperCommittee
2 Sep 2026Item 09(ii) Contract Award for Liquid Fuels…the Portfolio Holder for Waste, Neighbourhoods and Leisure, to award a contract for the supply of liquid fuels, including diesel, diesel exhaust fluid (DEF) and hydrotreated vegetable oil (HVO), following a compliant procurement process undertaken through an approved procurement framework.Cabinet

This is the raw feed, not the brief: a subscriber gets only the items that match their business, scored, with the so-what written out. Start a free trial.

Nearby councils

Suppliers rarely sell to one council alone. These are the authorities next door, and the ones covering the same ground at a different tier.

Councils it borders

Covering the same ground

Where Colchester spends most

The service areas taking the largest share of awarded value here. Each one has its own page explaining what we watch for.

Where this comes from

Awards, suppliers and expiry dates come from award notices published to Contracts Finder and Find a Tender by Colchester. The award data set was last refreshed on 18 September 2026, so notices published since then are not yet counted here. Values are as notified; where a notice names several suppliers, the value is shared across them.

Committee papers and meeting dates come from Colchester's own published papers, at https://colchester.cmis.uk.com/colchester. Every paper linked above is on the council's own site. Committee-paper figures were extracted on 20 September 2026.

What we leave out. A notice naming more than one buying authority is excluded, because it does not say how the value splits between them. So are notices from bodies that share this council's name but are separate organisations, such as the local college or NHS trust. Both would otherwise be counted here as Colchester's.

Nothing on this page is modelled, estimated or inferred. Every number is a count or a sum over those two public sources. Where a figure would be a guess, it is left out.

Get Colchester in your inbox, before the tender.

Give us a work email. We reply the same working day to set up your free trial. No card, no commitment.